Lead Story

Pushkar Singh Dhami Is Proof The Next Generation Has Arrived In BJP

When the chief minister delivered Uttarakhand to the BJP for an unprecedented term, it filled an important vacancy in the party’s top echelon

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has had many leaders who became chief ministers without winning an assembly election. Prime Minister Narendra Modi was one such leader when he first became the chief minister of Gujarat in 2001. Yogi Adityanath also falls in the same category. However, it is not usual for a BJP leader to lose an assembly election and still become a state chief minister. Pushkar Singh Dhami has performed this feat and, with it, claimed a special place for himself in the party.